The Single Life

Greetings, my friends, on this semi-overcast, almost Spring day! I guess I’m not really too excited about it, so perhaps I shouldn’t have used that particular punctuation mark. In truth, I feel rather ‘meh’ today. I actually got up in time to watch CBS Sunday Morning and then had a nice little breakfast of Spam & scrambled eggs with rice. (hey, don’t knock it ’til you try it!)

I have no real plans for today, other than a hot date with my dirty laundry. Yeah, I like to live on the edge, people. See, that’s the thing; I actually DO have lots of ideas but no way to put them into action. What I mean by that is I have no money…dinero; cash, cheese, flow, skrilla. Oh, I know there are some things that don’t require money but I’m also conserving on my petrol as well. When one lives paycheck to paycheck, one tends to think a tad more frugally. That would be me.

I love to be outside, even if it’s cloudy. I’m a nature girl. But I like to go places and see things. There is a whole lot of Texas I haven’t even seen yet and I’ve been here for quite a while. (it IS a pretty big state) In my mind, the weekend begins on Friday and ends on Sunday evening. That gives a person enough time to clock out at 5 on Friday, toss a few clothes in a duffel bag and see where the road takes you. When Sunday rolls around, you high-tail it back home by 4 or 5pm, in plenty of time to wash your dirty laundry, grab a bite to eat and watch a little telly before you hit the sheets for a good rest before Monday morning. And then, you wait all week long until Friday comes around again.

Only that didn’t happen for me. I came home after work on Friday, read an e-book on my tablet and then went to bed by 11pm. And Saturday? Well…this is how I spent my Saturday evening…

20150314_210308

 

Sad, ain’t it? After dinner, I finished the Red Velvet and uncorked the Pink Moscato, all sipped and enjoyed enthusiastically from my lovely camo wine goblet I got for my 50th birthday in February. (incidentally, the Moscato is delish!) I got to live vicariously through my son, who sent me pics and short videos of the DJ he went to see with his friends at some EDM club in Dallas. I have to admit, it was rather nice to at least be at home, so if I got tired, I could lay down and switch off the light. But then I was lucky enough to text back and forth with my bestie and do a bit of catching up. Yes, we could have called each other but I don’t mind the texts. It’s like re-reading a letter that makes you smile so I quite enjoyed our electronic conversation. Oh, but it gets better. Because we are such good friends and love each other, warts and all (mostly MY warts), she was quite okay with the wine-buzzed selfie I sent her…

20150314_203531Egad, I CAN’T believe I did that!! *sigh* I mean, that’s something you do when you’re in your 20s and it’s considered normal and pretty much accepted, not when you’re 50!! Maybe if I had been at a restaurant, having dinner and drinks with friends, at least I could keep my cool points. Oy…the things one does when buzzed and bored.

Not to worry though. I don’t intend to be a pathetic single lady for long. Now that I have my own transportation, I plan on finding some cheap and simple ways to be a part of life and not watch it pass me by. There is a lake close by, after all and even a beach not far from my house. If it’s country scenery I want, that’s pretty near as well. The way I see it, I can check out a map of places close to home that might be interesting and come up with an itinerary and small budget to make it happen. I may have to postpone renting a cabin by the lake for a while but it’s still on my list of things to do. Hmm…maybe I should start a Bucket List. They’ve become a tad cliche but it’s actually a very good idea. I think actually putting pen to paper and making a physical list we can keep in a safe place gives us purpose as well. I think we humans like to have something tangible like that. It’s a set of goals, as it were, and once we’ve accomplished one thing, we mark it off the list and move on to the next. Yep, that’s what I’m a-gonna do!

So don’t cry for me, Argentina. I may have a sad single life now but I’m going to do my darndest to change that! May take me a while but rest assured, I will share those things with you because you’re all a part of my life and it wouldn’t be right not to.

And now…on to some books, Netflix and maybe a ham sammich with a Coke…

Laters!!!

 

Leave a Reply

