Out with the old, in with the New; Year, that is…

So…we survived the 12/21/12 Mayan thing. Now what?? Well, like the song says: it’s a new dawn, it’s a new day, it’s a new life.  I may not be feeling good at this very moment (no, I didn’t drink too much) but I’m certain that will come along in due course.

My New Year’s not-so-rockin’ Eve was a tad lackluster but I had to work until 10pm and by the time I got home, it was almost 11pm. It’s a 31 mile commute but hey, the job is worth it. Anyway, when I got home,  I put on my camo jammies, cracked open a Guinness Black Lager and pondered my future, as we are wont to do on December 31st. I thought about 2012 and the tiny, but nonetheless significant (to me, at least) milestones that buoyed my hope: getting divorced, cutting a couple expenses, getting my own wireless account, finishing my manuscript (well…almost). There are still a few more items on the list but for the most part, I’ve made progress.  One of the high points was having my first professional article published. I was thrilled and humbled. I was also able to finally give my son a memorable Christmas, which had eluded me for quite some time plus, with the blessing of a good job in October, I was able to pass on the blessings and donate to a few local charities. That felt good!

But what about 2013, you say? Well, I’ve been thinking about that and I have an idea. Here goes:  this will be the year of How Can I? What Can I?  We all have hopes and dreams- all of us. The problem isn’t with having them as much as seeing them come to fruition. There is no straight path to a goal and certainly no set way or list of rules one must follow. Dreams are achieved in a zig-zaggy, winding sort of way. We get frustrated, sometimes (me? LOTS!) when either the dreams aren’t realized quickly enough or life throws us  a curve ball and we’re suddenly deflated. THAT’S when we have to ask ourselves, “How can I?”  “What can I?”

Okay, so the aforementioned curve ball has bruised your plan a little. So what?? It happens. But you have to ask yourself ‘How can I reach my goal from this point? What can I do to realize my dream with what I have at my disposal?’ You adapt, that’s how! Simple as that! Oh, don’t misunderstand, this mindset does not happen overnight, neither does it mean your life is gravy. It means you enjoy the lemonade your life-lemons gave you and keep it movin’. And trust me when I tell you life has been stop and start for me lately. Kinda like when you learn to drive a stick shift and haven’t quite mastered the clutch thing? Yeah…herky- jerky.

So…for 2013, I will adapt and figure out how best to achieve my laundry list of goals with the resources I have thus far and the brains God gave me. It’s still gonna be a long row to hoe but I’m confident that good things will happen this year. Now…how about you?

 

p.s. If you follow Hillbilly Debutante, check out the author’s new page on Facebook, ‘365 Days of Random Acts of Kindness’. I like to refer to it as 365RAK. I am the Random Lady and I totally approve that page!!   : )

2013

‘Til next time…

peace sign heart_clipart_love & hair grease, y’all!!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. kathie
    Jan 02, 2013 @ 13:13:16

    Whew! I WONDERED where you’d been. Thought maybe the 12-21 thing might have actually struck in Texas. My Resolution for this year? Hopefully to make it to your neck of the woods in Spring.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

