Still here!

Yes, the Random lady is still alive and kicking. I STILL haven’t been to see the Geek Squad and have them suss out the issues with my lappy but I’ve been a tad busy. Wait…didn’t I already say that once? Oh well, it’s the truth. Although I’m quite used to the 2nd shift, I feel as if all I ever do is work but I know that isn’t the case. Tomorrow begins my so-called ‘long week’ because I’m working six days and then next week, four. I rather like this shift rotation. Mostly, I’m grateful to at least have a job because I know there are still folks out there who don’t.

I had a Thanksgiving post all planned and even had it written out but for some reason, I just never made it to a computer to type it all up. Probably just as well because it was just your average holiday. While I was- am- grateful for everything I have,  naturally, I’m looking toward my future and all its possibilities. I guess part of it was because the Buick finally had its last hurrah. Had some issues commuting home from work one night (morning?) and had to call my ex to come retrieve me…at 1:00 in the morning! Oy…was terrible. I made it all the way from near downtown Dallas to within 5 minutes of home before I decided not to make the situation worse by continuing to drive the stupid thing. As luck would have it, I parked in front of  a liquor store (it was closed…dangit) but my reasoning was that it was A) close to where my mechanic lived and B) it had a big lighted sign out front so my ex would see me from the road. I had to wake up his mother because he didn’t answer his phone, nor did my son. My ex was on his computer (as is the norm) and my son was sacked out because he had been to a concert that evening. BUT…since the MIL is retired, I wasn’t too concerned about waking her up. To compound the sitch, my ex drove to the other end of town because that’s where he thought the liquor store was. *sigh* I coulda sworn I’d told him where I was but perhaps in my irritated “where-the-hell-are-you?” voice, I omitted that piece of info.

Anyhoo, when he finally showed up, I was just grateful that he’s a night owl and we live in the same house. He went by the local Del Taco for some late night grub so by the time we got home, it was 2am. I snagged a few of his crinkle cut fries,  cracked open a beer and then retreated to my bedroom to relax and try to figure out what the heck my next move would be. Since our family mechanic was close to where the hoopty was parked, he and my MIL took it to his house down the street so he could assess the damage. While I drove the ex’s Dodge Stratus to work the next day, Bob (the mechanic) had determined that it was an ECM module or some such thing that cause it to poop out on me. So I paid the $100 total for the part and labor and waited for Bob to tell me to come pick it up. That didn’t happen. See, the part that he replaced didn’t work so he had to go back and put another module on it but that one didn’t work either. The final verdict? It was that rascally fuel pump what was causing the problem. Neither Bob, nor I, nor my MIL thought it was in our best interest to dump more money into that old car (yes, the one referred to in my last post) so she sold it to the car crusher guy and used the funds to purchase a little VW Golf for my ex. It’s a stick, which although I can drive, I would rather not commute with all that clutchin’ between here and Dallas. So now I have forest green Dodge Stratus to drive to work every day. Yay me!!   : )

I decided to spend a little flow and got some Realtree camo car mats and steering wheel cover to spruce up the inside. I also bought a radio because the one it came with was just jacked-UP. My son installed it for me so that was a money save but at least I have tune-age now. Woohoo! So what else have I been doing? Well, I’ll tell ya…

I was fortunate enough to be able to donate some much needed canned goods to the Union Gospel Mission in Dallas through our organizer at work and one of the residents, a VietNam veteran, told our organizer that he was very touched. He didn’t think anyone cared anymore and he said it restored his faith in mankind. I can’t TELL you how good it feels to be able to do something like that. When your budget is as tight as ours has been, it’s difficult to spare $5 because you know that’s $5 worth of food in your cupboard.  To know that one of the men who fought for our country has been renewed in faith of his fellow man meant more to me than anything. So when the opportunity arose last week to help a couple other local charities, I decided to pitch in again. One of the charities is a children’s home in Dallas and the other one is a shelter that is sorely in need of clothing, shoes, toiletries and other items. I don’t say this in a boastful manner but in a very humble manner. For once in my life, I’m able to help someone because of the blessings I’ve received. I believe you need to spread the blessings around, if you’re able. And so I am. It makes me feel so good to share the love in my heart with the ones who need it most. And that’s what we’re supposed to do, y’all. Love isn’t love ’til you give it away.

Speaking of which, have I found love yet? Nope. Ain’t lookin’ either. For right now, my focus is on ME. I need to get MY life together and live for me for a while before I’m willing to commit to anyone. I’ve been in a relationship in some form or fashion since I was 15. If you do the math, that’s 32 years of my life. Yeah, I think I deserve a little ‘me’ time. I only have 7 more chapters before my book is complete and then comes the task of typing the manuscript. Guess I need to visit the Geek Squad so I’ll have a way to type it up, don’t I? After that, it’s a waiting game and a whole lot of faith to see where my life will take me. I planned on a trip to England to see friends in the summer but it’s still in the planning stages. Life is what happens while you’re busy making other plans, so saith John Lennon. And he’s right. For now, I’m taking one day at a time, thanking God for everything He’s given me thus far.

I do want to take the time to say how thankful and grateful I am for a very special person in my life- Kathie Truitt. She’s kind of been my writing mentor for a while now and is always so supportive, even if I text her for etiquette advice. She always takes time out of her busy life as a prominent Washington D.C. resident and author to help me with the tiniest of issues and I love her dearly for that. It would be no stretch to say that Kathie is my greatest motivator because she told me once that she got published because she never gave up. I respect that and it’s always present in my mind when I just want to chuck it all and do the 9-5 thing. I’m not meant to work in a cubicle farm so a gentle nudge from my Kathie-girl is all I need to put one foot in front of the other and keep on truckin’. Love you girl!!

Well, there you have it. That’s what I’ve been up to lately.  There might be gaps between my post but believe me when I say that you guys are never far from my thoughts. It’s all a process and sometimes and more time consuming than we’d like but very necessary in that we have to put forth the effort to see our dreams come to fruition. And I’m a pitbull when it comes to making my dreams come true. So take care, mes lecteurs and I’ll see you around!

Leave a Reply

