Chick-fil-A Saturday

Well, yesterday was my last day at the old job and Monday is the beginning of what I hope will be the start to a life on my own. Granted, it will take a bit of time for me to get all my ducks in a row, as it were, but I will have the funds to do so. For that, I’m not only grateful but happy and I feel very blessed.

The ladies bought me lunch at In-n-Out Burger which was yummy and I celebrated with a Bud Light Lime after I got home. My friend Tami called me from the pub wondering where I was. I didn’t  know we were meeting there but I told her next week, I’d make it. Last night, I put on my Longhorns jammies, ate my dinner and enjoyed my brewski under the comforter, since there was a chill in the air. When I woke up at 5:19am this morning, however, all that chill resulted in an allergy headache. *sigh* Just can’t get away from those things.

BUT…I crept into the kitchen, got some ice for my insulated mug, poured myself a Coke and then promptly took one Extra Strength Tylenol and one Excedrin (Walmart brand, actually) as this is my so-called “cure” for my allergy/sinus pain. By about 9am, my head still  had the vestiges of hurt but it was manageable. My stomach was telling me it was time for me to eat. Since no one else was about but the dog (my ex’s Boston terrier), I decided to take him with me to Chick-fil-A and get chicken biscuits for everyone. I threw on some sweats, a hoodie and grabbed my purse and then asked Roadie “Wan’ go bye bye??” Of course, he wags his nub as a yes in response.

So I let him out the door to mark his territory before we get in the hoopty (yes, it IS that bad) and begin our little trip. I couldn’t roll down the passenger window but he didn’t care. He put his little paws up on the armrest and looked out the dirty window anyway…

 

We make our way up the streets, an odd pair in an old beat up car but on a mission, nevertheless and not concerned with what anyone else thought. Every so often, I would look over at him and smile, pat his little back and tell him what a good boy he was and that “mama loves you”. He’s the family dog, although it’s understood it’s my ex’s dog. We all love him to bits.

We took a shortcut through one of the strip malls near the restaurant and Roadie was checking out all the stores as we cruised by. Here he is as we went past the Dollar Tree:

 

When we finally made it to Chick-fil-A, we had to navigate all the orange cones due to the construction for the extra drive-thru lane they were installing. He looked over at me as if to say “Is this gonna take long?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

LOL. Funny little puppy! I love him because he has such a deadpan mug for a dog (or any animal, for that matter). At any rate, I placed the order and did the slow crawl behind the rest of the cars, waiting to get to the window to pay and then pick up our food. He saw the guys working and kind of cocked his head to the side in a ‘mind-the-cones, mom’ sort of way.

 

But…we finally got our food and of course, he had to sniff the air and give me a look like “wassup…what you got??”  I pulled away from the restaurant and as I stopped at the sign to check for traffic before heading back to the casa, I got this pic of him, sitting proudly in the front seat of this old Buick (which I call the Science Experiment), not minding the electrical tape holding the armrest onto the door panel that he props his paws on. The armrest he leans on to view the city, through the dirty window that won’t roll down.

 

So there in all his glory, is the family pet…head high, age showing around his eyes, not caring about the faded, 24 yr old car he was riding in with the electrical tape, no headliner and dodgy transmission mounts. Nope…all he cared about was the fact that he got to to ‘bye bye’ and see the sights, as it were. When we got home, he marked his territory one more time on the evergreen tree out front, jogged up the steps and into the house, waiting for a bite of warm biscuit.

Y’know, sometimes, I’m embarrassed to not have a shiny new car like a lot of folks do or a pretty paved drive to park it on. Shoot, I don’t even have a pretty home to park it in front of . What I do have is a roof over my head, a car that gets me from ‘A’ to ‘B’ and enough money in my  bank account to pay my bills and get breakfast for my family. I’m also fortunate enough to love and be loved by a creature who doesn’t require all the things I wish I had. The simple things are good enough for him because he’s warm, he’s fed and he’s cared for. Just when I think I’ve got life figured out, this 9 yr. old Boston terrier makes me realize I don’t know as much as I thought I did. Such a good road-dawg.

So thank you, Roadie. I’m glad God made little doggies like you, who love us unconditionally and teach us (if we pay attention) that all our “stuff” doesn’t really matter. We choose to make it matter. If I’ve learned nothing else, it’s that we over complicate things and we shouldn’t. I saw this years ago and never forgot it: K-I-S-S….keep it simple, stupid. Not profound, but good advice, nonetheless. Sure, I’ll upgrade the car and eventually, find a small but comfortable home of my own. But for now, I’ll live simply and be thankful for what I do have, especially that little black dog that was just along for the ride.

Until next time…

   & hair grease, y’all!!

 

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. kathie
    Nov 24, 2012 @ 18:57:24

    First of all, do you know what I was thinking when I saw the pictures of the interior of your car and read the description? It sounds really cool. Very vintage-y. Here in Virginia only the ‘new rich’ drive shiny new cars. And they are very much frowned on by the ‘old money’ crowd. So you’d be in with the ‘old money’ if you lived here!! Maybe you should make a move? Hint, hint.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

