Fall has…fallen

Greetings, my friends! I bring good news to the blogfront: it finally got cold in Texas!! Well, chilly anyway. It was 52*F yesterday (11.11*C) and the  overnight low of 42*F (5.5*C). No matter how you slice it, it’s still better than the triple digit heat we’ve been experiencing, even into September. That’s just wrong. However, that’s just Texas and right, wrong or indifferent, I love it here.

My other good news is that I’ve found another employment position that pays STUPID good money so I’ll be able to pay my debts to my MIL, stay current on my bills and save to get a place all my own. Oh yeah, and I’m checking into a trip to the UK as well. Very lofty, to be sure but if you’re gonna dream, may as well dream big, eh?

I have a friend from London (who is a US citizen now) I ran into at the pub on Friday evening with my friend Tami and he and his lovely wife told me that basically, I’ll be spending about $1,000 on airfare alone. I kinda figured that. Still, I want to stash away some funds so I can plan to make that trip next Spring or possibly Summer, if possible. I have friends in Bromsgrove, West Kirby (near Liverpool) and Boscastle (Cornwall) so once I fly in to London Heathrow, I’ll have to take a train to my other destinations. Could be interesting and you can bet I’ll be writing about it too.

As for the new job, it will do more than allow me the opportunity to travel to someplace I’ve always wanted to see. I’ve had an idea for some time now that I would like to come to fruition but it involves copyrights, etc. so without a  better income, it wouldn’t be possible. I had planned to sell these items directly from my blog site but I’m still sussing out the deets over how I want to play it. I assure you, though, that you’ll like what I have to offer. Sorry for being so cryptic but until I get all my ducks in a row, I don’t want to give too much away.

I also hope to be published by early next year (unless the Mayans have screwed us all with their calendar and I don’t get the chance) and the added income will help me with travel expenses. Yes, I have thought about this A LOT. Actually, for many years and have come to the conclusion that I’m just not meant to work for someone else. I’m never  happy, though it’s always nice to learn something new. Perhaps it could be attributed to my age and the whole mortality thing but to me, it’s that I feel at my most creative at this time in my life and I’ve spent enough time worrying about and for someone else. Time to worry about me for a change.  Please believe that I’m also a tad apprehensive because what if I get all the things I’ve hoped for? That’s kind of a scary though… yikes!! 

Well, I’ll cross that brigde when I come to it and just keep on truckin’. That’s all I can do. Yes, success can be very daunting, as is the thought of actually having the funds to go, do and buy whatever I like. Whoever said money can’t make you happy is full of beans! Okay, no…it can’t make you happy. That’s totally up to YOU. Those who have it may not be able to understand the mindset of those of us who don’t.  I’m quite sure I’ll always live modestly because really, who needs a 9,00 square foot house?  I’ve spent 12 years in the mortgage/escrow/finance industry and I can tell you right now, I ain’t interested in paying double the money I’ve borrowed just to have the best digs on the block. Pass. I’d rather hang onto my dough, thankyouverymuch and have my modest but cool lighthouse home near the lake and put all that money to good use helping someone else who needs it worse than I do. Again, lofty ideas but hey, it could happen, right?

Anyway, I’m glad to report something good for a change. Makes me smile and smiling is something I love to do. We should all do on a regular basis. In the meantime, if you’re having a typical Monday and you just can’t seem to turn the corners of your mouth up and grin, I’ll do it for you.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

