Welcome to Dallas, darlin’!!

Okay, I tried to resist the urge but I can’t. Although my hometown is forever immortalized in Hillbilly Debutante Cafe, I’ve spent half my life in the great state of Texas. While we have our issues, we’re proud of the fact that we were once known as the Republic of Texas (from March 2, 1836 to February 19, 1846) and we have our own power grid. We’ve also been pretty lucky to have maintained a fairly good economy when other states didn’t fare as well. Dallas is a very large city of over 4 million residents and believe me when I tell you there’s plenty to do around here. If you have loads of cash to toss around, head on down to the Highland Park section of the Big D (Mockingbird Ln. , Preston Rd., Livingston  & Douglas Ave. surrounds some chi chi poo poo type stores). If you like flashy but don’t have a lot of money, you should hit up Sam Moon on Harry Hines. But let’s move on…I’m gonna tell you about some of those famous shots of Dallas in the new and improved intro and where you can find those landmarks when you come visit.

When the intro begins, this is what you see. Those two roadways are Houston St. (on your left) and Jefferson Blvd. (on your right), coming in from the south end of the city. The roadway underneath is Tom Landry Frwy., also known as Interstate 30.  Once you cross over Tom Landry Frwy. and get closer to the actual city,  those two streets become the Houston Viaduct and Market Street. That’s the Omni Hotel in the center of the shot and the Dallas Convention Center is directly to the right. HERE’S A BIG OL’ LONE STAR WELCOME TO…

I used to work very close to downtown, on Brookriver Drive, off Mockingbird Lane and not far from the Consulate General of Mexico. Every now and then, one of my co-workers and I would go hit Sonny Byran’s over on Inwood for some of the state’s best BBQ.  (I think it is, anyway) It doesn’t look like much but Julia Child loved it, as did Eric Clapton and Oprah. If you go, you need to get there early because when they run out of meat, they close the doors. Check it:

See what I mean?  I ain’t lyin’.

But look at this plate full of calorie-laden goodness! We got brisket, sausage, cole slaw & home made onion rings. The sauce is dee-lishus with just a hint of spicy. Of course, they bottle and sell it but you can’t beat it when you’re actually there and it’s still warm in the bottle. They use old Corona beer bottles for the sauce at the restaurant but not for the bottles they sell retail.  Mmmm-good!! Lots more to see though.

That funky building on the left is Fountain Place and it’s located at 1445 Ross Ave. It was designed by I.M. Pei and was “used” as the offices of Ewing Oil in the later seasons of Dallas back in the 80s. The building in the background in the center of the shot is the Renaissance Tower at 1201 Elm St. in Dallas. The gold building on the right is the Campbell Centre Management Office at 8350 North Central Expwy. It’s unmistakable, even on Google maps.

I’m not sure where the shot of the cattle was taken but as for the sculpture in the center, that was in my neck of the woods in Frisco. It’s located in Central Park, near the Rough Riders ballpark and the arena where the Dallas Stars practice. (more on those sculptures in part 2 of my Dallas blog tomorrow) The building on the right in the Comerica Bank tower located at 1717 Main St. in Dallas.

As you can see, I pulled these shots directly from the intro. What you see under Patrick Duffy’s name is the Margaret Hunt Hill bridge, which was just recently opened to traffic. It was built as part of the Trinity River Corridor Project and in the future, it will include trails, parks, lakes, an equestrian center, the Great Trinity Forest and the Trinity Audubon Center. That big ball on a stick is Reunion Tower at 300 Reunion Blvd., next to the Hyatt Regency. Atop the 560 ft. high structure is Wolfgang Puck’s Five Sixty restaurant and includes a rotating bar.Here’s a better shot of the amazing bridge:

The next shot is of the Dallas Light Rail or DART, which connects Dallas to Plano, North Carrollton, Garland and Irving. Unfortunately, it doesn’t come as far as Frisco but I’m sure it will, in time. The other picture is pretty obvious.  It’s none other than the new Cowboys Stadium (we like to call it Jerry World) which is now in Arlington. Jerry Jones spent a boatload of money to buy a Texas-sized jumbo screen inside so you don’t miss a play (center of the stadium), as well as a sliding roof. An oversized moon roof, if you will. I heard it was really nice in there but I’ve never been.

The skyscraper with the cool green neon is the Bank of America building and the one with the diamond shaped lights is a night shot of the Renaissance Tower

And last but certainly not least…Southfork Ranch. It’s actually not in Dallas but 3700 Hogge Drive in Parker, TX. It’s kinda between Allen and Plano but if you’re coming to visit, it’s pretty close to everything you might need. Honey, there ain’t nothin’ but city once you land here. Though we’re landlocked, you’ll never be bored, so long as you have some duckets saved and a little stamina. I had a fabulous time going back to Omaha to visit relatives but if I’m being honest, it made me smile when I looked out the window of the plane and saw all the city lights on the approach to the airport. I do hope to have a lighthouse home by the lake out here where I am now but if I want a little city life, all I gotta do is travel 30 minutes to the Big D and I’m smack dab in the middle of  all the funky, artsy-ness of Dallas. (Visit http://www.southfork.com if you want more info. on tours, events & parties, etc.)

Well, time for me to hit the hay but I hope I’ve done the city justice. I’ve been to a lot of places in the city but there’s still a great deal more to see.  There’s just no place like it anywhere. Part 2 tomorrow so y’all come back now…y’hear?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Figured Party Dress
    Jul 15, 2012 @ 20:30:31

    Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really well written article. I will be sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful info. Thanks for the post. I will certainly return.

    Reply

  2. nazman
    Oct 18, 2014 @ 03:11:54

    thanks for the info ,im hoping to visit in the next few years .

    Reply

Leave a Reply

