Girls night out

Hey y’all! I have some good news! I won’t be sitting on my tuchus at home tonight because my lovely friend Tami and I are going to the Denton Arts & Jazz Festival for a girls night out! I can’t even remember the last time I went out like this so that tells you what a homebody I’ve become. Sad, ain’t it?

Tami and I are co-workers and when we got to chatting last week at the end of  our night, we decided it would be a good idea for she and I both to get out and DO something. Like me, her ex-husband is a musician too so she enjoys all sorts of music. I’ve never been to a jazz fest so I thought since it was close, it would be cool. When I mentioned that I couldn’t go because of my transpo situation, she offered to drive. Awesome!!  Gonna be so cool…two middle aged hippie types, going to a jazz festival in a vintage jag. I even have a beat up looking cowgirl hat to wear too, although it’s been a tad windy today, it doesn’t matter. I’m wearing it! I have a backpack/sling to put some stuff in so I don’t have to carry that suitcase I call a handbag and have all the accoutrements necessary for a few hours away from home. Even have an extra pair of little strappy sandals. Y’know, just in case.

The band we’re going to see is Los Lonely Boys, who are from San Angelo, TX. They call their brand of music “Texican rock ‘n roll” but I call it fabulous! I may not be able to buy a lot of souvenirs but at least I’m getting out and being a part of life. I honestly feel like my time is now and I’ve never felt more creative. On that note, I decided to not work on the compilation book of unread emails to my parents.  I’d rather keep that private. I have been working on the weight loss book and read a tiny excerpt of my scribblings the other night and they seemed to like it. Most of the time, I eat my dinner in my car and write between bites of food. I hope to finish it before Summer is out because I’m ready for the blessings, y’all!

Well, it’s time for me to get dressed and ready to go. I’ll post pics tomorrow since I know everyone loves to look at pics. In the meantime, here’s a video of the most well known Los Lonely Boys song, “How Far is Heaven”. Beautiful song and a fantastic bunch of guys. Adios amigos y amigas!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kathie Truitt
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 21:56:18

    Okay, just listened to Los Lonely Boys and I am in love.

    Reply

    • randomlady65
      Apr 29, 2012 @ 01:18:37

      Oh they’re fantastic! I like the bridge in the song too. Here’s the Spanish lyrics and the English translation:

      Tu que estas en alto cielo,
      Echame tu bendiciòn
      [You that’s in a higher place
      Send me down a blessing]

      Greatness!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

