My fashion (non) sense

Now that I’m actually committed to getting healthy and knowing that with exercise comes weight loss (it should, anyway) I decided I needed to pay a bit more attention to what I’m wearing. Oh, I do pay attention now but when one has a limited budget and and larger body, you always fall back on the standard fare: blue jeans w/tennis shoes (heels, if you’re working in a business casual environment), tunics or a shirt long enough to cover your muffin top and whatever wagon you’re draggin’ behind you (pun intended).

That being said, I thought I would give you a peek inside my head at the kind of fashion sense (or lack thereof) I’ve been plagued with a large part of my life. When I tell you it runs the gamut, please believe, it don’t just run, honey it SPRINTS!! Anyhoo, let’s keep it movin’. What follows is representative of my all-over-the-place love of fashion that fits whatever mood I’m in at the time. Below is something I would feel totally comfortable wearing, not caring if it’s a fashion don’t…it’s totally me.

          

Nice sleeveless Ramones shirt, long in the body…bright red pair of skinny jeans, then add…                
           plus these…                    
                                ...and then the bag, voila! Rebel with applause!
  
                 
 (the bag and shoes are from Avril Lavigne’s Abbey Dawn Collection on http://www.justfab.com)
Some of you may wrinkle your nose and wonder how on Earth I could walk out in public dressed that way. Pretty easy, actually. The concho belt sets it off nicely, I think. By the same token, I do like nice girly things too. As a matter of fact, I was watching The Revolution the other day before I went to work and saw some really cute things that also appealed to me. Tim Gunn was doing a segment with Vittoria Woodill, on-air personality in the Philadelphia area and creator of the blog Polished for Pennies. (I’ve added her to my blogroll) For whatever reason, it struck a chord with me and I decided I need to get girly and well…what she presented looked like something even I could do.
Just look at that FABulous dress she has on!! (total cost of dress, belt and shoes is $36) And the accessories on the table are great too. Incidentally, those nude pumps were originally $500 but Vittoria found them for $15. Can you imagine?? Fifteen bucks!! Awesome! At  one time, I would never have walked out the door without my hair styled and full makeup but that was then and this is now. I’m actually a low maintenance type of gal and many days, I just wear mascara and do my eyebrows since my skin is back to normal. (thanks to Jane Seymour’s Natural Advantage. That stuff really does what it says!) However, there are some days I dress a bit more sassy and do the mineral makeup and eye shadow as well. Depends on how I feel.
I also like classic clothing too. Kinda retro, you might say. Love, love, love Pan Am and all those wonderful outfits they get to wear! Hope the show last but even if it doesn’t, I’ve found a couple websites that offer vintage dresses and other items that I also have no problem reaching into my closet for. (If I could afford them, that is) There’s just something classy about the way women’s fashion looked in the 60’s. Check out this gorgeous swing dress:
                         http://www.bettiepageclothing.com
I’ve included the link where you can find that beautiful dress pictured above. Another site you can visit for more clean, classic vintage clothing is http://www.modcloth.com/. If you’re talking vintage though, you CAN’T get any classier and more glamorous than a dress by Irene Lentz. She’s long since passed but was well known in Hollywood for designing gowns for some of its most famous actresses. Here’s a shot of Lucille Ball, circa 1946, wearing an original Irene Lentz:
They sure don’t make ’em like THAT anymore. Sad too, because the 30’s and 40’s were the Age of Glamour, in my humble opinion. But…like I said…my taste runs the gamut on the fashion scale. And I DON’T follow trends either. I pick a few current items and then wear what I like. When I was in high school, I used to wear one post and one dangly earring because I couldn’t make up my mind which one I wanted to wear more.  Turned out to be a trend but at the time I wore them, it wasn’t. I wanted to be different and it was a small start.
Now in case you didn’t already know I’m a bit of a boho/tree hugging hippie-type as well. I see no reason why one can’t don some Wonder Years  togs and still manage to look like a natty dresser. However, some of my favorite pieces are too casual to be natty. Here’s a rumdoodle blouse that can be worn with boyfriend jeans and sandals, perhaps flare leg jeans and a strappy wedge,  (or skinny jeans and boots) and a pretty little floral halter top dress you could wear with pastel kitten heels to make the color in the dress really pop.
            
They look so comfy, don’t they? But wait, there’s more!! (as they say on all those late night infomercials) Not only do I love ALL the above looks, there’s juuuust one more than I find comfy and cool too. Or as I like to call it, “country cool”. I didn’t start the trend and admittedly, I like to march to the beat of my own drum. But I do love the whole new direction of ladies’ country fashion.  I snagged a couple pics to show you what I mean.
  
(Feather & leopard print tee by Panhandle Slim and Levis 646 high rise flare demin)
Or I could be girly-country with a cute little Rock & Roll embroidered baby doll dress and a kickin’ pair of Corral Angel Wing Heart Cowboy boots. (make that cowgirl boots).
 
All of the  items are straight from Sheplers (except the 646 high rise jeans) and I’m seriously considering finding a way to buy them. They’re just so darn cute and I need to broaden my fashion horizon. See what I mean? My fashion sense is more like fashion nonsense because I just can’t decide on a specific “look” for myself. I like buffet since you can have a little of this, a little of that so why not parlay that to my clothes as well? Why be stuck in a style? Why not be random with what I wear and not pigeon hole myself? I AM the Random Lady, after all.  lol
Well I don’t know about y’all but I’m kinda tired from this prêt-à-porter, can’t-make-up-my-mind-what-I-want stroll down the blogging runway so I’ll skedaddle for now. If nothing else, you’ve just gotten a look inside my head and now understand why I pull myself in so many directions at once.  I’m such a Pisces!  I hope you’ve enjoyed the visuals and if you’ve never considered any of the items I’ve posted, maybe you should start. Like Nike says, Just Do It.
Until next time…
  & hair grease, y’all!!
 

                                

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kathie Truitt
    Mar 26, 2012 @ 10:53:53

    Oh my gosh!! I love EVERYTHING you posted and would wear ALL of it!! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE it! We might be dangerous if we lived closer together. I think it’s cool that you used to wear two different earrings. Honey, in our little town that really was being rebellious, wasn’t it? My favorite thing to do now is to go to thrift shops. My mom got me started on them several years ago and I am addicted. Do you have good ones where you live?

    Reply

  2. kathie Truitt
    Mar 26, 2012 @ 10:59:55

    I just clicked on the Betty Paige website. I’m going to have to buy one of the crinolines. I’ve been slowly editing my wardrobe to 2 looks: cowgirl chic and vintage
    On ebay I’ve bought a couple of 1950’s dresses with circle skirts. Yesterday I put a white crinoline underneath one and it looked exactly like something straight from a 1950’s movie. I figured Jay would laugh but he loved it!

    Reply

  3. randomlady65
    Mar 26, 2012 @ 13:02:35

    lol That’s totally awesome Kathie! It’s hard to look cute if you’re not svelte but I need something to make me feel better and if I get them a little at a time, then I should feel like a million bucks! You HAVE to take a pic of you in the 50’s dresses! I promise when I get one of those outfits, I’ll post one to my blog. Or all three…you never know! ; )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

