Merry New Year!!

Well, we’ve made it to the end of another year. Close enough anyway. Although the above picture of the cozy fire isn’t from my house, it IS beautiful and conveys the warm feelings we all associate with the Christmas holiday. I was barely awake when I heard my ex singing “it’s the most crappiest time of the year!”, only to be shushed by his mom because I was still asleep (so she thought). He said “So what? I went to bed before she did and I’m awake!” (like it’s a bad thing to be in bed on Christmas at 10am when you’re used to sleeping that late working 2nd shift. It’s not like we had a tree with scads of presents to unwrap or anything, jeez) Uhh I think he meant he went to bed after I did. A very mean and telling comment could be placed here but I won’t stoop to that level. Suffice it to say that the way she shushed him felt to me, like when you want someone to be quiet so they won’t be heard but you agree with what they’re saying. *sigh* And so it goes, as the great Linda Ellerbee would say.

Be that as it may, I still decided to send Christmas wishes via text to family and friends. Nothing much on the agenda today, except keeping my opinions to myself and maybe a little reading. Since we’re so close to the New Year, I thought I would let this post serve double duty, as it were. It isn’t always easy to come home at 1am and think of something to blog about so I generally don’t post until I have something interesting to say. Well, try to anyway. lol

Most of us make resolutions for the coming year because it represents a fresh start, a way to move on to new things and propositions. For me, it’s the same. Only I choose not to call them resolutions. Rather, I like to think of them as a To-Do list for the New Year. A game plan, if you will, of what I want to accomplish and the steps I must take to make those items  come to fruition. I’m a list maker folks and that habit is very hard to break. lol  But hey, whatever works, right? So I decided instead of making a list for myself, I would make a list of what I’d like see change in the world and then pray for it to happen. These are just random things y’all…cuz I’m a random person.   lol

1) Put God back into your life if He isn’t there now. We have to believe in a higher power because it gives us peace of mind and the fortitude to live each day. Simply how we’re hard-wired, folks. If you don’t stand for something, you’ll fall for anything.

2) Recognize what someone is doing right; don’t focus on what they’re doing wrong. And give out that pat on the back   when it’s deserved. It makes a difference.

3) Smile when someone looks at you. It doesn’t imply anything, other than one person conveying a happy moment to another. You’d be surprised what an effect it can have on someone and they, in turn, can pass it on.

4) Laugh…a lot. All you can. Remember the old Reader’s Digest “Laughter is the Best Medicine”? It’s true and we need to stop taking life so seriously and laugh uproariously, every chance we get. Not only will it keep us young at heart, it helps lower your blood pressure and who couldn’t use a little of that every so often?

5) Get angry and get over it. It’s okay to be upset and fuss about whatever is bothering you. Y’know, it’s healthy to get it out of your system. But then you need to move on and not hold grudges or whatever.  Besides, holding a grudge is like letting some live in your head rent-free. Who wants that? Life is too short to be angry all the time, my friends.

6) Try to be more objective and less judgmental. We all do it because we’re human. However, try to see things from the other person’s point of view. Remember, outward appearance belies what a person is dealing with internally.

7) Just because you CAN leave merchandise anywhere in a store, doesn’t mean you SHOULD. The employees are paid to tidy up but we need to mind our manners and put things back where they came from, just like at home. (I take clothes back to the rack from whence they came after I leave a fitting room) It’s very much appreciated and believe me, the retail employees on the floor have a great deal more to their job than simply picking up what we’re too lazy to put back.

8) Teach your children that it’s NOT okay to have a fit in a store if they don’t get what they want. Then do your job as a parent and take them to the restroom if you need to. It’s called discipline…part and parcel of parenthood and a relief to the ears and confidence of the other patrons of the store that you don’t allow that sort of behaviour.

9) If you love someone, TELL them. Tomorrow is not promised to us so we have to make the most of each day. Never leave anything unsaid or you’ll spend the rest of your life regretting it. (see #5)

10) Take a second look at the bird hopping across the hot pavement or the squirrels scampering around the trees. Even the playful exchange between your pets. Life is only complicated if you choose to make it that way so recognize and enjoy the simple things.

So do I really live by these ideals? I do try. But again, I’m human and therefore, fallible. The point is, we can all do better and we should. I try to find some measure of joy in my life on a daily basis, though some days are more difficult than others. It’s the human condition, my dears, but we are a unique sort and quite unlike any other species on God’s green Earth. We only have this ONE life so better get it as right as we can before it’s too late. Simplify and de-clutter; that’s on my “To Do” list for 2012.

Until next time…..peace, love and…

 

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ranmarshall
    Dec 25, 2011 @ 17:46:08

    Peace and Love Ne! Happy New Year!

    Reply

  2. kathie Truitt
    Dec 26, 2011 @ 18:07:08

    I think I shall put these things on my ‘to-do’ list as well! Thank you for your words of wisdom. I am REALLY hoping to see you in 2012.

    Reply

  3. randomlady65
    Dec 26, 2011 @ 19:12:03

    I thank you kindly, Miss Kathie. Not sure if it’s wisdom on my part but it’s from the heart. ; ) I believe 2012 has a trip to VA in store for me. Never been and can’t wait to go see where part of our American history began. p.s. if I come visit, can we go to the Smithsonian, huh, can we? heehee

    Reply

Leave a Reply

