My “Girl Posse”

By definition, Merriam-Webster describes a posse as:  “a large group, often with a common interest”. I guess in this case, it would be accurate, our common interest being support of each other when our lives take a slight dip of the wonky variety.  The online urban dictionary describes posse as: “your crew, your homies; a group of friends, people who may or may not have your back.”  Either way is cool with me! LOL

At any rate, it seems like everyone has their own posse these days. I’m not sure if it was Diddy (is he still calling himself that this week?) who made having a posse de rigueur and the rest of Hollyweird followed suit. Well, the twenty- and early thirty-somethings did anyway. By the time you hit your 40s, you don’t need one because you don’t feel you have anything to prove.  Rather, your so-called “posse” morphs into a core group of peeps you turn to when you need a shoulder to cry on (if you’re female), vent about the kids, the husband or the ex, or just to have meaningless convo and laughter. For me, it’s my circle of friends who are closerthanthis to me and I don’t know what I’d do without.

So…this post will be about 6 ladies whom I love dearly and find essential to my daily life. I may not talk to them every day but they’re never far from my thoughts and I want to expand on my ‘friends’ post from March of this year. I’m going to tell you what these ladies mean to me and include a photo of each of their beautiful faces. Without further ado, here is my Girl Posse:

  Kat

This lovely lady has been my bestie for a very long time. We’ve been friends for 10 yrs. and even though I had my driver’s license when she was born (yikes!), her young years belie her maturity, intelligence and hard working nature. We like to call her “crack squirrel” but it’s meant in the most loving of ways. If you want something done, she’s your girl. She’s on a task and sticks with it, even if it’s not work related. She’s just  ah.maze.ing. She’s full of energy, she’s funny and best of all, her thought processes work very much like mine (a topic reminds us of something else, so we veer off topic and go with the random thought as it occurs,  before we segue back to the original topic. Not everyone can keep up) so we understand each other very well.  Not only that, we have a tendency to speak fast (chatter?) and not everyone can keep up with that either. But she and I are sympatico in that aspect. A lot of aspects, actually. We’ve been there through some real hairy moments in each other’s lives and no matter what happens, we’ve never, EVER had a falling out. We don’t get to talk everyday because she’s an Escrow Officer and that keeps her quite busy. But no matter how long between conversation, it’s like it was only yesterday. I have a great deal of respect for all she’s accomplished in the short amount of time I’ve known her. To be honest, she makes me feel more than a bit lazy. lol  Perhaps I need to step it up a notch or two so I don’t look like such a lame bestie. ; ) I love her to pieces!

 Brandie

And THIS is my Brandie-girl! Just look at that smile!  I’ve known this sweet girl for as long as I’ve known Kat…it’s her sister! Brandie is the eldest and she’s just as fabulous as her sister is, also one of my besties. Miss Brandie is scary smart. She’s analytical and detailed and if you want something researched to exhaustion, whatever that may be, she’s your girl. She’s got a wicked sense of humour (she’s on my blogroll) and a heart of gold. I admire her ability to stand strong when I know it would be so much easier for her to collapse in a heap due to the obstacles in her life. But stand she does, and stalwartly so. She’s stubborn when she needs to be, well versed, acutely aware of everything around her and if you need someone to back you up, she’s ready and willing. She’s also the one who inspired me to get off my duff  to start this blog. She endured all my stupid texts and phone calls when I first started and wondered ‘how do I do this?’  ‘but what if I want to do that?’  She even told me which blog publisher to use. Her exact words were: “Hands down? WordPress!” God, I love her!!  Like her sister Kat, she’s ah.maze.ing!

 Melanie

Ah yes, the lovely Miss Melly! (I like to call her Melly, because I loved the sound of it rolling off Vivien Leigh’s tongue in Gone With the Wind when she referred to her sister as ‘Melly’) I actually “met” Melanie via Facebook through a mutual friend. How could I have known  a year ago that this lovely Brit would be such a large part of my life? When I posted a page about Cornwall, it was her 300 yr. old cottage that I featured, along with some other shots of the beautiful Cornwall. She also got me hooked on the Doc Martin programme! I’m so obsessed, I actually created a ringtone of the theme music.  She’s a very strong, take no crap kind of woman and I love that about her. She says what she thinks and pulls no punches…my kind of friend!  ; )   One of the coolest things I’ve ever done is sign up for international calling so I could talk to her and when I did, it was awesome! If you’ve never called someone overseas, there’s a bit of a delay when you speak. The app on my BlackBerry dials in to an 800 number and then dials her number with the country code. The poor thing has had 3 heart attacks since we “met” in 2010 and though I hadn’t known her long, it worried me sick. After that, I didn’t call her too much because she got so out of breath and I couldn’t do that to her. She’s had her ups and downs, healthwise but she’s still a very strong woman and it would be a very boring day if she didn’t inbox me on Facebook every day or every other day. Even across the vast expanse of ocean, women can relate to each other. We both have a teenaged boy (about the same age too!) and we both have had our share of personal issues with the men in our lives. But we use our humour and learn to take it in stride and get on with it. She’s good people and I love her to bits!

 Kim

And here is the equally lovely Kim! Also a Brit and best mate to Melanie, she’s just love, love, love!  I also “met” her via Facebook through Melanie and am glad I did. Kim also has that wonderful sense of humour but she has a big heart. Sadly, I don’t get to talk to her a great deal as she works so much. I need to be better about messaging her inbox but I hate to bother her. She’s a nurse and when she isn’t working, I think she needs to be relaxing. It’s a hard job, no matter where in  the world you live. She has two teenaged boys (bless her heart) but would do anything under the sun for them, even when they drive her bonkers. I can definitely relate to that! She lives in West Kirby but basically, you could call it Liverpool. It’s the Merseyside of Liverpool but still in the area. She’s a long way from her best mate Melanie but I know they speak often, as would be expected. I haven’t phoned Kim yet but again, she works so hard, I hate to bother her. I have a World Clock app on my phone, with four different time zones: Los Angeles, Denver, Washington DC and Birmingham, UK. That way, I can make sure I’m not keeping anyone up past their bedtime or waking them up too early. Plus, it’s just  nice to know what time it is where my friends are. Sometimes, it’s all I need to make me feel better. Odd? Yeah, it is. But I am random, remember?  I just love Miss Kimmy  and think she’s awesome!

 Gleeby

One of my besties, former co-worker and a fellow parishioner at LifeBridge Church, she’s one of the reasons I’ve evolved from angry cave woman to the person I should be. I met Gleeby at the title company where we both worked. I had made a lateral move from the Escrow Closing department to the Tax department to maintain some semblance of sanity and she was in the Vendor Coordinating department the next set of cubies over from mine. She eventually came over to the Tax department and I’m SO glad she did! She was actually born in Kerala in Southwest India but her family immigrated to the U.S. when she was 3. She has two teenaged daughters, a son in kindergarten and a sweet little girl not yet old enough for school. Forget Sarah Jessica Parker, I don’t know how SHE does it! But she’s a great mom and she’s raising them right. When I was laid off from the title company in 2007, she was laid off the same day. But we stayed in touch and eventually, I put her name in the hat, as it were, at the job I landed shortly after being laid off. She’s still there today, even though I am not. She’s dependable, always willing to listen, gives good advice and does her level best to live by the Good Book. She invited me to go to service with her more than once but I finally decided to go and am glad I did. I missed the past two Saturdays because I had no money and no gas in the vehicle. I did make this past Saturday night service though! I really need to be on the right path, though I’m still stumbling a bit and it helps us both because I’ve known her for about 7 yrs. She’s never changed in all that time. She’s still the cool, witty and honest person I met all those years ago. And she won’t sugar coat ANYthing either! I like that about her. We’ve had some very similar cirumstances in our lives and we text or message each other daily. She’s my Go-to-Gleeby because she has some pretty sage advice and knows a little bit of everything. Whatever may be going on inside, she doesn’t let it show outwardly. Cool as a cucumber, that one! I like to think of it as quiet reserve.  : )      She’s just a fabulous person and I’m very honored that she’s my friend. She knows everything about me and likes me anyway. Ha! Love that girl dearly!!

 Kathie

And here she is…a former Mrs. Missouri, author, Christian, loving wife and mother, grandmother (that don’t sound right), Southern Belle and snappy dresser and a hometown girl. Miss Kathie and I have known each other a very long time. Our families have known each other going on 38 years, yet it’s only recently that I feel I’ve gotten to know her at all. After high school, most everyone wanted to move away from El Dorado Springs because it was so boring. There really isn’t much to do, bucolic setting notwithstanding. However, she and I both know it was a very good place to raise a kid and still is. Sure, it’s a small town and with that is the understanding that everyone knows your business. But with that small town goes a kinship to the residents that still lingers all these years later. I’m so very glad we reconnected via the social network because at the time, I really needed more of my Eldo “peeps” to chat with. At a time when I felt a lot of chaos in my life, here was Kathie, ready to be my friend and a source of comfort (she really is) because she’d been some places I’ve only ever dreamed of.  Yet she’s still the sweet and humble young lady I remember from way back when.

What a gentle and loving soul she is. Always a class act but definitely not a door mat. She’s given me so much advice about writing and publishing and even though she’s terribly busy, she responds to my emails, messages or texts. Very rare if she doesn’t. How often does that happen these days? She loves God and country and you couldn’t find anyone more patriotic than Miss Kathie. I like that she supports the cause of women in general and advocates a healthy balance of beauty on the inside, as well as the outside. She’s smart, funny, accomplished, is loved by everyone who meets her (how could they not?) and is absolutely gorgeous!  What I love most is that even when I think I’m being a pain, she doesn’t.  She’s always got time for a verbal “hug” and that means a great deal to me.  I guess what I’m getting at here is Kathie has a very busy life in DC but she still has time to let me know she cares and spurs me on to want to do great things. The fact that she referred to me as a fellow writer? Well, that brought tears to my eyes and meant SO much to me. Just that alone makes me think I can do this…write, I mean. There aren’t enough words to describe what she is and means to me.  Like I said before, I love her like the sky is blue…infinitely. God Bless you, Kathie. You make me want to be a better person.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kathie Truitt
    Oct 11, 2011 @ 08:49:48

    I feel sooooo incredibly honored to be included with the rest of these classy, lovely and sounds like fun ladies!! THANK YOU and back at ya!!

    Reply

  2. randomlady65
    Oct 20, 2011 @ 20:11:08

    My pleasure Kathie! Gonna keep y’all around for a while!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

