Movin’ on up…at some point, anyway.

No, not to a dee-luxe apartment in the sky. But there are some nice flats not far from where I live now that I would love to move into. It’s a case of wishful thinking on my part but it can and will happen…only not right now. So maybe this will be a boring post and nobody will see it but I have to share my lofty ideas with someone, eh? Besides, they really are quite lovely and in Rhonda Byrne’s book, The Secret, the law of attraction is said to work by attracting into a person’s life experiences, situations, events, and people that ‘match’ the frequency of the person’s thoughts and feelings. Therefore, positive thinking and feeling positive can create life-changing results such as increased wealth, health, and happiness. Ergo, posting pictures of the place I want to live and tossing my positive thoughts to the cosmos should render me a pretty decent pad, que no? So without a lot of jibber-jabber about the place, I’ll post pics and then do a bit of “commentary”. Let’s get started!

Very Romeo and Juliet, with the balconies and all.  These are near the downtown area and relatively new but the building is close to a library (woot!), lots of restaruants, a World Cup soccer field and some cute little shops downtown. Like Shining Wings Boutique & Tea Parties (here’s the link Kathie  ; )   http://shiningwings.net) ,  Jump Jive & Wail Hair Salon, The Good Steward Consignment, The Blue Door Boutique and Randy’s Steak House. If you visit the steakhouse, you can dine in the elegant Ballroom or the more casual McCallum Room (they have a total of 7 separate dining rooms). They also have a piano lounge and live entertainment on Fri. and Sat. nights.  I’ve never been there but maybe one day, I’ll go all by my little self.  Hey, I’m an independent kind of woman and if I wait for a man to ask…well, I don’t need that.  And we’re walking…we’re walking…

Here is the entrance and the bank of elevators once you get in. Actually, once you walk into the foyer from the street, you need a security code to even get to the elevators. I’m liking that! Isn’t it just lovely?

So now we’ll make our way up the elevators and to one of the model flats (apartments) so you can see why I’d want to leave the loveliness of the double-wide life and into a smaller but easier to maintain domicile. First, we’ll peek at the kitchen, dining room and living (lounge) area:

   


 

 
 

In this particular floorplan, the balcony is through the doors in the living area, though some have balcony access through both the living area AND the bedroom. Yeah, I wanted that one but it’s just not practical since it’s only me who will be (hopefully) living here. The 1 bedroom 880 SF flat I want is around $950 per month and I’m pretty sure it doesn’t include utilities. lol  Still and all, it’s such a beautiful place and it does have security so that’s a huge plus for me, especially if I’m blessed enough to publish on a regular basis. I don’t want to keep up with lawn mowing and all that hoo-hah and if I only have a small dog, I can take it with me if I have to travel. Oh yeah, I’ve given this a whole lotta thought people. Next is the bathroom and bedroom. I apologize for the tiny images, as well as their poor quality. I couldn’t find anything larger so I had to use my talents at MS Paint to resize the stupid things.  ; )

  

Now, just imagine Fall has arrived (don’t I wish! ), and you have a nice little wrought iron cafe set on the balcony, where you can sit and have coffee or a hot cuppa (that’s tea, for those of you not versed in the British form of English) and a good book to settle down with for a while. Or watch the sun come up…or go down, or…well, you get the idea.

Huh…huh…what’d I tell ya?? <<elbows you in the ribs>> And with a few sturdy plants out there, voila! Blissful solitude. *siiiiiggggghhhhh* I really need to get out of the house more often, don’t I? lol  At any rate, they also offer a gym/fitness center (seems kinda small but at least it won’t cost anything and it’s within walking distance) and a lovely pool with attached hot tub/spa. The pool is surrounded by a steel fence, (natch) and covered in pretty green vines. That’s amazing since most folks’ grass is burnt to a crisp and the yards have more cracks than Keith Richards’ face! The Heat Miser has decided to park his big ugly butt across the plains states, Texas being one of them. Oh well, whaddaya gonna do? Check these out:

 

And here’s the ‘Square’ fountain, with the library/City Hall in the background. Yes, it’s gorgeous on the inside as well.

Last but not least, I thought I would share with you a couple shots of the area decorated at Christmastime. Sure, it’s a couple months early…ish. But if I could live in one of these lovely flats, THIS would be my favorite time of year! The city is actually very widely known for it’s light show and draws over 400,000 visitors every year.  With over 175,000 lights, 11.5 miles of wiring and 8 miles of extension cords, that’s probably a good thing.  Maybe in some way, those folks help offset the cost of energy to power the lights and the labor to put it all up. So with that, I’ll take my leave and say the usual ‘Peace, Love & hair grease y’all!’  Enjoy the pics!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

