Soapbox Tuesday

In the past year or so that I’ve been blogging, I’d like to think I’ve evolved as a blogger and moved away from the angry rants and whatnot. I’m still not going to rant because that gets old real quick and I’m actually not a negative person. My motto is “The glass is half full”. I will, however, climb up on my soapbox, albeit in a mature and objective manner…if that’s even possible. You know how I get.

Facebook is blowing up with commentary on the Casey Anthony trial, astonished at the ‘Not Guilty’ verdict. I didn’t watch the trial but then I don’t watch local or national news very often either. It’s so hard to know who or what to believe anymore. Media plays such a huge role in our everyday lives and they spin stories to their liking for ratings. That’s not to say there aren’t some very reliable and honest journalists but they report on the news; the “suits” make big decisions where ratings and the network are concerned. “If it bleeds, it leads” is likely etched into a plaque and hanging on a wall in a newsroom somewhere all over the world.

I don’t know when the people of this country  made the transition from objective, hard working, mannered and fairly honorable to skeptical, workaholic, what’s-in-it-for-me types but it happened. And that’s too bad, really. Oh, I have nothing against folks who love to work but if you spend more time at the office than you do with your family, something is wrong. Coming from a title/mortgage background, I completely understand that sometimes one is required to work a little later than normal, especially if there is a deadline looming. No, I’m talking about those who spend every spare moment working their butts off and spreading themselves so thin, they hardly know if they’re coming or going. We even have different work ethics in different parts of the country. Some areas are a tad more laid back but still willing to get the job done. Others are more of a “get it done yesterday” mentality and there is a mad scramble to complete whatever task we’re commissioned to do. So these days, many of us load up on Starbucks and buzz through our day.

But it isn’t just overworking ourselves that bothers me. Kids these days have a sense of entitlement…that we as parents owe them more than they’re getting. People in the grocery store don’t bother to say ‘excuse me’ as they pass with their shopping cart. For that matter, many of them take up the center of the aisle and don’t seem to notice the other shoppers waiting for them to move so they can shop too. (some of these folks are too lazy to walk the carts to the return area after they load their groceries so they leave them wherever they please). The list goes on and on. So if I’m not ranting, then why am I posting? Good question.  Here goes…

I want people to think before they speak because once you do, you can’t take back the words that just tumbled out of your mouth. I want kids to realize their parents are NOT supposed to be their buddy and that they can benefit from our experience if they would stop acting so persecuted and just listen. By the same token, I want parents to not just talk to their kids but to listen as well. Even at my age, I like talking to my son, even if he doesn’t. He’s all I have and if I can’t communicate with him then I haven’t been paying enough attention to what’s going on in his life. I can still relate to him on some levels because I haven’t forgotten what it’s like to be his age. I think that’s the key to maintaining a good relationship with kids. They may not always be right but they do want validation, like the rest of us. Back in the day, it was understood that your parents busted their butt to raise you properly and take care of you and when they got old, we took care of them in return. Has that concept been lost?

If you see that someone is short a quarter for their purchase at the local convenience store, pony up and give it to them. Believe me, it is not only appreciated but makes that person smile and want to pass on the “warm and fuzzies” to someone else. Spread the feel good virus, if you will.

Though it may not be easy, I wish more people would have faith that whatever is going wrong in their lives will work itself out. One of the hardest things to do is to let go and let God. I’ve been there…I’m still there. I was watching the INSP channel a while back and there was a particular episode of ‘The Waltons’ that I absolutely loved and conveys how I feel. I just think we should slow down and appreciate the proper things, maybe hearken back to when we worked to live and not lived to work. Family was the most important thing in your life and helping others wasn’t something you did for glory but because it was the right thing to do.  I think the following dialogue from Miss Mamie and Miss Emily Baldwin (characters on the show) expresses a simple life much better than I could.

Miss Mamie: My sister and I had planned this party as a celebration, – of the precious time that we have here on this earth.
Miss Emily: A tribute to all the beautiful things that make up our lives.
Miss Mamie: We have not been so much participants in life as observers, and we feel most fortunate to have lived in this special place, and time.
Miss Emily: Most especially do we treasure our friends, and memories.
Miss Mamie: It seems to us there are many memorable events – the turning of the seasons, the vibrancy of Spring –
Miss Emily: – and life renews itself with daffodils and crocusses blooming along a walkway; dogwood, redbud –
Miss Mamie: – and the indulence of Summer, and the coming of Autumn –
Miss Emily: – and the incredible beauty of a shower of golden leaves.
Miss Mamie: Having someone to love –
Miss Emily: – and someone who loves you in return.
Miss Mamie: And kisses are important –
Miss Emily: – most especially are kisses to be remembered.
Miss Mamie: We’re here for such a brief time, but if we can make some sense out of life, and look at it with wonder and amazement, and leave some record of it behind for those who follow us, then we have made a contribution –
Miss Emily: – and it has all been worthwhile.
John-Boy (who has just arrived): Amen!

And the flock said, “Amen!!” Sometimes the simple life is the best and most rewarding. Until next time…

  & hair grease, y’all!!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Brandie King
    Aug 13, 2011 @ 15:28:01

    You are a special person Renee! You always think of things so much more in-depth than I do and it causes me to think of them in a different way. Keep on going, I love your blog!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

