“Now, here’s the deal…”

Greeting, my friends! Glad you found me because I need a bit of help. See, I’ve been trying to find a job in the area of my “expertise” , which is escrow and REO/Foreclosure. While I’m not actually an expert, per se,  in any of those, I do have over 10 yrs. experience in the Title and Mortgage industry. As you all know, it’s a big crapshoot as far as employment is concerned because the housing market is so very sketchy. Which brings me to the help part of my post.

I was up late last night watching “Tuesdays With Morrie”, starring Jack Lemmon and Hank Azaria. I’ve read the book as well but it had been some time ago and it was nice to have a sort of ‘refresher’. At any rate, I got to thinking about what Morrie told Mitch, in regard to doing what your heart tells you and not your head…y’know, do what you love? The only problem I have with that is a person has to make a decent living in order to pay for the roof over their head, clothes on their back and food in their stomach, not to mention all the things children need, age notwithstanding.

So, here’s the deal: while I need to find a position in a particular line of employment, what I’d like more than anything…anything is the opportunity to write for a living.  I’ve had no college, no correspondence courses, no online courses and no formal training of any kind in the field of writing. For that matter, I’ve had no formal education in Title/Escrow either. I started as a receptionist at a title company and worked my way up. The point is, I feel I can do this, if only I’m given the chance. Mind you, I would need a bit of explanation, were someone to throw me a bone and let me have at it. But I’m pretty adaptable (as you can tell if you’ve read some of my posts from last year).

I’d like to know what you think, based on the posts available on my blogsite. I’m not asking you to sugar coat, but I will ask you to be objective. And for cryin’ out loud, please, DON”T be a smarta** just because you have a viable way of doing so. Nobody will be able to see your commentary except me and I assure you, I can be quite ascerbic when necessary.  lol   Also, I welcome input from all over the globe but please make sure you use English. I can’t afford Rosetta Stone yet.  ; )     Just click the “Email Me” icon on the right side of the site page or on “Contact” in the primary menu underneath the Random Musings masthead. And just so you know, I’m soliciting for writing jobs, based on my writing style, relatability, humor and insight. I believe in my skills and I hope you will too. 

Thank you all so very much for reading my blog and being so supportive. If you found me through “Hillbilly Debutante”, please let Kathie know how grateful I am that she added me to her blogroll. She’s been a great supporter!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kathie Truitt
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 17:11:49

    I am giving you advice as a ‘big sister’ – not a fellow writer. So here goes: It’s like I tell my son who is 16 almost 17 and trying to figure out what he wants to do in life. I don’t care if you are a professional skateboarder, surfer or bar tender. You don’t have to be a lawyer, doctor or an accountant. Do what makes you happy – follow your heart, just know that you have to live within your means. For instance, writing, surfboarding are a few of the professions that don’t make a lot of money. So maybe you’ll need to supplement by waitressing or bar tending – actually, I’ve heard bartenders do well – and then that frees you up to write. And maybe to do what your heart is telling you to do, you need to move to a less expensive city/state/town.
    You are a good writer. And if it’s the first thing you think of in the morning and the last thing you think of at night, then you SHOULD be doing it. Search your soul – figure out a way to make it happen.

    Reply

  2. reneewriter65
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 17:25:19

    Aww, thanks Miss Kathie! Soul searching is EXACTLY what I’ve been doing lately. Gonna find a way to do this…just gotta have faith! ; )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

