Light it up blue!

Being that this is April 1st and most folks are totally into pranking, I thought I would take the high road and focus my attention on something much more important than who got punk’d or how. Saturday, April 2nd is World Autism Awareness Day and this evening, many homes, businesses and well known locations around the globe are lighting up blue in support of and to raise awareness for autism.

I have a friend, Marjorie, the mother of five children, one of whom, Tyler is autistic. We met at a title company where we were both employed and though we’re not in the same immediate locale, we still stay in touch. I can joke about how frustrating my son is but I also know that his behavior is pretty much normal for an 18 yr. old. I cannot imagine the work and patience required to care for a child with autism. But she does it every day and still manages to be positive, upbeat and maintain a fantastic amount of faith. I think she’s just amazing!

Though I won’t even pretend to be knowledgeable about autism, I will keep things simple by providing links to a couple organizations here in the U.S. if you’d like to show your support for the courageous children and their parents who just want to raise a happy, healthy child and promote awareness for a disorder that affects one in every 110 children. The term autism actually describes a group of disorders such as Pervasive Developmental Disorders (PDD),  PDD-NOS (not otherwise specified), Asperger’s Syndrome, Rett Syndrome and  Childhood Disintegrative Disorder.

To show your support of autism awareness, you can purchase a blue lightbulb at your local Home Depot. A portion of the sale will go to Autism Speaks to fund research and more,  for this complex disorder. If you don’t have a Home Depot in your area, just head to your local Walmart and buy a blue bulb there. It may not be in the Light it Up Blue package like Home Depot but you can still change out the bulb in your outdoor lighting, garage or wherever you prefer. Either way, you’ll be showing your support. Take a picture and share it on your Facebook, MySpace or other social network. Believe me, it will be greatly appreciated. I even gave myself a special pedicure in support. See:

 

I know…funny toes. But it’s from the heart and Marjorie loved it. I’d like to have one of the t-shirts but if you’ve read some of my other posts, you know why I can’t. That’s okay though. It’s not about the shirt, but sincerity and the love and support of my friend and her family. Autism doesn’t just affect the child, it affects the entire family.

If you’d like to find out more about autism or what you can do to help,  here is the link for Autism Speaks:

http://www.autismspeaks.org/

If you’d like to join Autism Speaks and sign their pledge to Light It Up Blue, here is the link:

http://www.lightitupblue.org/

The children and families living with autism have the love and support of someone who will never let them down, will always be available and never leave them, no matter what. With that, I’ll take my leave by posting a photo of the someone I just described…no explanation necessary.

Leave a Reply

