Stalked: Someone’s Watching-Neighborhood Watch

 January was National Stalking Awareness month and in honor of that, I would like to devote this post to someone who has firsthand knowledge of just how scary stalking can be. Her name is Kathie Truitt and our families have known each other for well over 35 years. We both lived in the same small town in Missouri and attended the same school. Although she graduated ahead of me, I still remember seeing her sitting on the steps near the high school gym, waiting for her boyfriend Jay, now her husband. And let me tell you, they were pretty much joined at the hip. Many of us were back in the day, the difference being, she’s still happily married and many of us…well, some of us are on husband #2 but that’s a whole ‘nother story.

While this post is devoted to stalking and dedicated to Kathie, I won’t start listing all the specifics about her ordeal. I should say her and her family’s ordeal because stalking doesn’t  affect just one person. It affects everyone. The individual being targeted is in a very vulnerable position because even those that are closest to them, who love and support them can seem indifferent, even if that’s not so. I believe in Kathie’s case, she’s such a kind and wonderful person, she was a bit incredulous that a person claiming to be a friend could be so cold, calculating and seemingly without remorse. As I said, we both grew up in a small town where you know everyone but even if you don’t, you help those in need if at all possible. Not a hand out but a hand up, if you will.

When you move to a nice neighborhood with good schools, you simply wouldn’t expect to fall victim to the machinations of one of its residents. I certainly wouldn’t. But the woman who stalked Kathie just defies all logic to me. I mean, I can’t fathom why on earth anyone would take pleasure in someone else’s misery. The sad part is,  this woman was enabled by a husband who either didn’t care or was afraid to do anything to anger her, lest he become a victim as well. To me, “Lynn”, the perpetrator, sunk to her lowest when she asked her daughter to perjure herself in a court of law. As if that weren’t bad enough, “Lynn” is still out there instead of getting the help she needs for her sickness.

 So what can we do if we find ourselves in the same position? Well, plenty. I’m not an expert but the first thing I would do is make sure I tell someone I trust implicitly. Someone who knows your character, that you have a good relationship with, be it a spouse or your BFF. That’s a good start, anyway. There are many resources available to someone seeking help if they are being stalked  and I would also suggest accessing this website for more information”

http://stalkingawarenessmonth.org/about

There you can find downloadable safety guidelines, behavior logs, handbooks and links to various law enforcement and prosecutors, as well as links to legislation regarding stalking. You can even purchase a Stalking Awareness pin, which I intend to do. Kathie, if you privately email me, I’ll send you one too.  ; )

I also suggest you read Kathie’s book, False Victim to help paint a picture of how insidious stalkers can be. It really is riveting and scary but important, I think.  You can purchase her book on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, or directly from the publisher, Tate Publishing. I’ve included the links to all three below:

http://www.amazon.com/False-Victim-ebook/dp/B003Z0BNYO/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1296537128&sr=1-1

http://search.barnesandnoble.com/False-Victim/Kathie-Truitt/e/9781616633523/?itm=1&USRI=false+victim

http://www.tatepublishing.com/bookstore/book.php?w=978-1-61663-352-3

Please purchase a Stalking Awareness pin in support of Kathie, and all the other victims out there who haven’t been heard. We need to let these sick people know that they’re to be held accountable for their actions, that they’re not crazy but sick and need help. Perhaps we can even gain insight as to what motivates these disturbed individuals to create such a fantasy world and wreak so much havoc for their own twisted satisfaction.

 I would like to thank Kathie for allowing me to blog about an incident I know she’d rather not relive. But she does…and if it helps one person by her being so open about what happened, I’m pretty sure she’ll say that’s what really matters. She’s just a beautiful person, inside and out and it’s my privilege and honor to know her. Love ya girly!!   = )

 (Kathie and Violet)

 

Until next time…  & hair grease, y’all!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: People Q&A !

Leave a Reply

