Thank you

Hello, my friends. I hope this Thanksgiving Day finds you all well, warm (if it’s cold where you are) and with full tummies.  I tried not to overdo the eating but will gladly admit that I had two pieces of apple pie. Life was not so fun this time last year, but I’m very proud to say that I’ve moved on emotionally and am pretty content right now. While there is no romantic love between me and my “ex”, I am finally able to say that I love him as a friend…nothing more. We’ve always been able to talk to each other and probably always will. So that’s a positive for the day.

What I really want to do is just list all the things I’m thankful for, as is the custom for this day and we are all wont to do. That being said, this won’t be the usual “friends, family, job”  kind of appreciation. On this day, I am thankful for these things:

  • The truck drivers who bring produce and goods to the stores
  • The folks who monitor our power grid
  • The doctors and nurses in our hospitals
  • The veterinarians who help heal our beloved pets
  • The people behind the counter at the 24 hr convenince store
  • The dedicated individuals at the all night drug store
  • The policemen and women, firemen and city workers
  • The unsung heroes at the retail stores, especially on Black Friday
  • The men and women of our armed forces
  • Food in my cupboard and meat in the freezer
  • A roof over my head with heat in winter and a/c in summer
  • The opportunity and freedom to be able to list the things I’m thankful for in a blog

Okay, so this would be the part where I tell you I’m thankful for my wonderful friends and amazing family. They really are just the best. But of everything I could possibly think of to be thankful for, it would have to be that my parents raised me well and were a fine example of what I could be. They imbued me with a firm grasp of right and wrong (though it may not have seemed like it at times), a sense of humor, compassion, a love of books and music and the knowledge that I should be respectful always, but I didn’t have to take sh*t from anyone. It wasn’t until after my father passed away that I really began to reflect on how remarkable they both were and what a good influence they’ve been on my life.  So for all these things, I say…thank you.

Happy Thanksgiving everyone. I hope it was a good one.   : )

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Kathie
    Dec 01, 2010 @ 09:58:39

    Thank you for reminding us of the people that make it happen that we usually don’t think about, but without them we couldn’t have all that we do.

    My favorite commercial on TV is the truck driver that says “I’m a big deal in the fashion world” and then he talks about how if he didn’t everything to the stores on time, etc …. such a good point.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

