I miss Mayberry…

I’m back again after a two week “sabbatical” called work. Very happy to report that I think this job suits me well, in that it requires my knowledge in the title/mortgage industry but it isn’t so stressful that I’m completely drained by the time I walk through the front door for dinner. Though I will admit, it is quite fast paced and enough so that I am more than ready for 5:30 every day. Glad to be working again and even gladder that I’ve known the Sr. VP of Operations for the entire decade I’ve been in this industry. I didn’t think he even liked me because I’m so outspoken but after a bit of reflection, I’ve come to realize that I am good at what I do and ultimately, that’s why I was hired, albeit on a temporary scale…for now. Gotta do something nice for that man someday. Anyway, moving on…

Before I landed the position I now have, I sat here, in my room and did a lot of thinking. Loads of thinking, actually.  Normally, I try to avoid news reports of any kind (if at all possible) because no matter how accurate they try to be, someone puts a spin on it.  I’m not a big fan of the “if it bleeds, it leads” motto. I think that’s sick and wrong. But I digress…what the hell do I know about being a reporter? Still and all, I do keep abreast of the goings-on in the world and locally.

That being said, perhaps all my reflectivity is plain old middle-age, facing one’s mortality or whatever hoo-ha bullshit falls in that category. It’s not…I don’t think. I was born in a sizable metro area in the north, living there until I was 8 and then our family moved to a small town (pop. 3,800) in the heartland. I spent my formative years in that small town until graduating high school and then moved to a medium sized metro area (when I say medium sized, I mean about 250,000 people) until I was 23, subsequently moving to Texas with my first husband.  I wasn’t prepared for just how big this area is and when I checked out the population stats in the back of the trusty Rand McNally, I couldn’t believe it! At the time, I think it was about 4 million. LOTS of things to do and places to see. That was cool for a while…until after I divorced, remarried and had a child. Kids change everything

Now that my son is almost grown, I find myself analyzing all the changes in how we eat, sleep, work, play, raise our children and relate to each other on this big ol’ blue marble. Because it’s my job to send him out into the “great unknown” armed with as much knowledge and social skills as possible, save what he’s learned in public school. I don’t know, it just seems like we spend more time working and rushing around, always in a hurry. Yes, we make more money but we give our kids too much, don’t discipline them enough (in the right way), they’re not allowed to use God in the pledge of allegiance at school, let alone say a quiet prayer to themselves. If we spill a cup of hot coffee at a drive-thru, we can sue the shit out of the company, even though we should have known hot liquids can burn you. We’re accustomed to a world that’s open 24/7 so we never have to go without. We can even pay our bills in the comfort of our home, or telecommute to our job and work  from home in our cozy pyjamas. (yeah, I kinda like the thought of that, so you got me there)

But we  follow and look up to celebrities as role models, then judge them when they screw up. You know who my role models are? My parents. Hell, we can’t even elect a President without digging up dirt or finding  fault with everything they do once they reach the White House. That’s not to imply that every decision a president makes is the correct one. But change takes time and with this 24/7 world, we’ve become impatient, like the children we’re trying to raise.  Not always in a bad way, mind you. But it’s easy to get used to such convenience.  To be continued…

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jimmy
    Nov 15, 2010 @ 05:03:38

    i like

    Reply

  2. frostwire download
    Nov 29, 2010 @ 01:52:10

    one can argue that it can go both ways

    Reply

Leave a Reply

