“I’ll take D-bags for $200, Alex!”

What.the hell. is wrong with people lately?? It seems as if everyone in the universe has gone rogue and started acting like complete asshats and for no good reason.  1) Some lady decides to ignore right-of-way rules and use a truck as cover because she’s too impatient to wait and make her left turn. 2) my friend Kathie T. gets bumped into by a woman too engrossed with texting to look up and see where she’s going 3) some random woman tells Kathie T.  her leopard print ankle boots were “interesting” (instead of just zipping the lip) 4) a guy in a white pickup truck hits his turn signal nano seconds before turning into the strip mall…as opposed to the recommended 100 feet…I’m sure you get the gist.

Mama always told us  “if you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all”. She’s got a point and for the most part, I’ve been good about keeping my opinions to myself when in public (except for the day I yelled at the lady who took liberties with the right-of-way). Hey, I’m a work in progress. ; )  Anyway, I don’t want to give the impression that I’m just a grouchy, middle-age biatch and if that is the impression folks have…well I accept, own and embrace it. I’ve earned it. But honestly, these are just my observations of everyday people who either don’t think enough or just don’t think at all. That being said, I’m going to list things that leave me scratching my head, befuddled at the hominids who are responsible. 

  • If your kids misbehave while in a public place, don’t ignore it…handle it!
  • Even adults should say please and thank you (excuse me works in the grocery store too; don’t just stand there and mentally will someone to move; rules of the road apply to grocery carts too, btw)
  • Teach your kids (and yourself) to put things back where they found them…at home and in public! Just because people are paid to clean up the store doesn’t mean you should take advantage of that fact.
  • Don’t make up for long hours and the office by giving your kids everything they want. Not only will you go broke, but you’re teaching them a sense of entitlement (which can turn them into the asshats I referred to in the first paragraph)
  • Show your kids how to stitch a basic hem or fix a seam that has come unravelled. While you’re at it, show them how to make a meal from scratch, not by punching buttons on a microwave. This means cutting and prepping the veggies/meats themselves.
  • If you own a car, you should damn well know how to maintain it. This means looking at the owner’s manual to find out how to check & fill the oil, tranny fluid. It’s okay to be an a$$…just not a dumba$$
  • Ladies, please stop wearing a regular bra with your racerback tops; it’s tacky and you’ll end up on www.peopleofwalmart.com; trust me, you DON’T want that!
  • If you even have a tidbit of a question whether your outfit looks appropriate…it probably isn’t; go change; I can admire a good physique, male or female;  but if you’re wider than you are tall,  short shorts, skirts, halters and anything else that shows too much skin is not your fashion friend.  As in my Just Sayin’ section, fatback should be soul food, not what you see when you take your shirt off.

I realize this seems a little harsh and also that common sense ain’t so common but please people, try to think before you speak/act? You’re not the only person driving or waiting in line for latte, or whatever it is that you think gives you the right to be a complete tool. As stated by Tom Hanks in A League of Their Own,  “Use your head…that’s that lump three feet above your a**!”  We all must live together so we all must be civil with word, smart and sincere in deed and realize it ain’t all just about “me”.  ‘Til next time…

  & hair grease, y’all!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Rebekah
    Dec 03, 2010 @ 13:54:56

    Ms. McClure you are true blue thru & thru . I am so glad I took y’r advice & came here to read y’r Prattle. I wish I could hear it in person, I love you like a sister ( that’s saying a lot ~ if you know my sister 😉 ) I miss getting in & out of trouble w/ you ~ we had fun growing up ~ too bad we had to slow down 😉
    Keep your witisism coming maybe someone will learn something 😉

    Be Safe, Be Free, Have FUN

    W/ Love, Rebekah

    Reply

Leave a Reply

