Cool like dat

Yes, I still have a pulse…just like to take a few days between posts. Unless I’m really upset about something, of course. Had a short 4 hr mow-fest today so my yard doesn’t look like the Addams family lives here. My feet are a tad sore because the property is not level at all and I was wearing thin shoes, so my feet were going every which way. Other than that, I feel pretty good. It wouldn’t have taken me so long to mow if it hadn’t been sooo humid today! That’s just how it goes this time of year in the ol’ Lone Star state. And of course, as soon as I finished the back yard, the dogs have to go out and christen the freshly cut grass with a poop! I love ’em though.

Felt much better after I had a shower and a beer. The ex came home right about the time I finished mowing and when I got out of the shower, I heard him talking to his girlfriend. He had told me the night before that she has a real country accent, so whenI asked him for an example, the phrase he used was “hey baby”.  Anyway, I told him I wanted to hear her say it all country-like and he held out the phone so I could hear her say it…like this:  “haayy baaby”. Quite a drawl. Then he tells her “I told you she was cool!”, referring to me, because I’m able to talk to my not-yet-ex’s girlfriend. Took  a while for me to get to that point but I have to admit he’s right…I’m cool like dat.  (heehee)

See, here’s the thing…while I’ve made a few unflattering posts he’s “appeared” in, they’re not really about him. They’re about me coming to terms with this oddball, Sonny & Cher life we have, and him being discreet and respectful so I don’t have to hear something meant for one person only. As I’ve stated in an earlier post, there’s someone always on my mind too…but I won’t profess my feelings where everybody and their dog can hear it, that’s just the way I am.  Don’t misunderstand though, it took me a loooong time to get to a point where I didn’t want to throw something sharp at his head. He’s a pretty good guy but really, it’s just not worth it to be angry and negative all the time. That takes way too much energy and causes health problems. I’m already dealing with enough of that so I’d much rather be nice to each other but allow myself to be pissy if I need to. I’ll get glad in the same pants I got mad in…’cause I’m cool like dat.   : )       ‘Til next time…

  & hair grease, y’all!

Leave a Reply

