C’mon, really???

Okay, I know I said I didn’t want to whine and I won’t…but I feel the need to enlighten people regarding being friends with the ex. Now, I’m living a very odd (gross understatement) existence at the mo’ but only because I have no choice. Sonny and Cher shared a home but at least they had separate wings…here, not so much. I do have the master BR (whoopty freakin’ do!!), replete with the ugly-ass, flower-dy wallboard, circa 1987 while the ex is relegated to the back of the house in his own little gee-I-wish-I-was-still-a-teenager man cave. 

Said man cave includes the Zeppelin “Stairway” poster I bought for him, shelf with his dragon collection, 42″ HD tv, HD -DVR, PS3 and Rock Band drum set. Oh, I almost forgot to mention the limited floor space that even the dogs have trouble navigating. He also has a small table he keeps his laptop on and the headset he uses for “broadcasting” and talking to friends. Whew! Got carried away for a tic…sorry ’bout that.

Lest you think me the proverbial scorned woman, I can assure you that isn’t the case. I want him to be happy just as much as he wants me to be happy and that’s a good thing. We began as friends and will remain so. That being said, it’s easier to be friends IF YOU LIVE APART. Now I’ll be honest and say that I do have someone on my mind alot and would like to pursue that further, if at all possible. HOWEVER…I am respectful enough to keep my feelings to myself. Again, I want him to be happy but as I was sitting in the den with his mother, trying to help her with her computer, all I heard was baby, baby, baby. Huh? What is this, a scene from Walk the Line?? I also got to hear “baby, i love you sooo much!”  Oh puhleez! I think I just threw up in my mouth. Can he not hear us talking in the next room or is it time for that Miracle Ear?

See, I just think we should keep all that a bit more low-key because I don’t think it’s necessary for either of us to be so blatant about our love life. Well, if I had one. And I know that’s why he’s all serious about losing weight and getting the all over body tan. He came into my room the other night and said “well, can you tell I’ve been losing weight?” and I said “yeah”. What was I supposed to say?  ‘I don’t give a shit and by the way, I’m vastly underwhelmed by your man boobs’?  You’re right, that is pretty tacky. I seem to recall him telling me how I sat here in my room and let my ass get wide, though at the time, we were arguing. In my experience, there’s usually a little honesty in an argument…we just don’t always willingly admit that fact. At this particular juncture, tact and propriety aren’t always present when we disagree on anything.

*sigh* I’m tellin’ ya, one of these days when I’m rich and semi-famous, I’ll look back on this and wonder how the heck I managed to keep my sanity. Truthfully, it’s more difficult dealing with our teenaged son than his father but both of them drive me crazy. Really though, I do have some suggestions if you should find yourself in the same situation as me.

1) Agree to disagree; just remember you have to share the domicile and being a butthole won’t help either of you.

2) Make sure the kid(s) understand it’s a temporary situation until you gather enough dough to find your own place.

3) Try not to say derogatory things about the ex in front of the children. They remember those things. [the fruit of my loom doesn’t need my help; he has his own smart ass comments where his dad is concerned. Must be the DNA]

4) For pete’s sake, if you must tell your flavor of the month how you feel, do it out of earshot…like Wilford Brimley says, it’s the right thing to do.

I think that’s a pretty short and simple guideline but every situation is different. Hell, if all else fails, start a blog like I did. I’m pretty sure there’s plenty of people who don’t mind if you piss and moan about your life if it keeps you from running naked down the street with a garden tool in your hand. Nobody has to read it unless you want them to…you’d have to give them the address. No, I didn’t plan all this out before I started blogging. It was completely spur of the moment and 8 months of frustration. Anyway, my battery level is low because my son and I have to share my power cord, a/k/a “brick”.  He damaged his (no surprise there) so I’m guessing he thinks whatever’s his is his and whatever’s mine is his. That’s all for now kids.  ‘Til next time…

  & hair grease, y’all!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Kathie
    Sep 16, 2010 @ 11:20:07

    I’ve been reading post after post after post. YOU are a great writer. I can’t wait to read more. If that’s okay I’m going to add you to my blog roll.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

