Monday, Monday

For many in the area, it’s the first day of school…not at our house. As I stated in an earlier post, I withdrew my son from the high school he was attending (lots of reasons I won’t get into) and am happy to say, he’s slated for a “go-see” at a local charter school tomorrow with a friend.  Do I regret my decision to withdraw him? No. Would I recommend  the same for other parents looking for an alternative? Absobloodylutely!  I understand how difficult it must be for the teachers in regard to kids’ attitudes these days, because many of the kids have this issue of entitlement, in that they think they’re owed something simply because they’re children of someone who can afford “stuff” and privileges, or because parents are supposed to provide their kids with whatever they want…it’s their job. (uh huh…dream on) Many kids these days are very outspoken, disrespectful and ever so ready to call Johnny Law if someone looks at them cross-eyed. However, teen angst notwithstanding, we should pay more attention to how many sports, dance classes and gymnastics we get our kids into, as well as the load of schoolwork they have to keep up with the rest of the world, trying to find where they fit in at school and with friends as well as their role at home. Whew!!  I’m tired!! Don’t get me wrong though, lots of kids love their sports and being in school.

What I mean by that is that there is so much more going on inside a child’s head at any one time, those poor little brain cells don’t know whether to sh*t or go blind. It’s a delicate balance to be sure but I never stopped trying to talk to and understand my son as he grew up. He’s very obstinate at times (it’s the DNA) but he’s bright and knows what he will and will not tolerate and what could lead to trouble for him in an academic setting. So if it takes a week or two to find a decent, supportive school that he can benefit from and isn’t worried about how much funding per student they get from the state, then I’m duty bound as a parent to pursue that avenue and find a place that fits to him…not the other way around.

That’s all for now I think. We’ll “talk” again later.   ; )

Leave a Reply

